Syria: EU adds 17 ministers and Central Bank Governor to sanctions list

November 14, 2016
Share on

EU Foreign Affairs ministers, gathering in Brussels on Monday 14 November 2016 for a Foreign Affairs Council, added 17 ministers from the Syrian government and the Governor of the Central Bank of Syria to the list of those targeted by EU restrictive measures against the Syrian regime.
This decision brings to 234 the total number of persons subject to a travel ban and an asset freeze for the violent repression against the civilian population in Syria.
In addition, 69 entities are targeted by an asset freeze. More broadly, sanctions currently in place against Syria include an oil embargo, restrictions on certain investments, a freeze of the assets of the Syrian central bank within the EU, export restrictions on equipment and technology that might be used for internal repression as well as on equipment and technology for the monitoring or interception of internet or telephone communications. These measures were last extended on 27 May 2016 and are in place until 1 June 2017.
The Council reaffirmed that EU remains committed to finding a lasting solution to the conflict in Syria, as there is no military solution to the Syrian civil war. The EU is determined to save lives and continues its intense humanitarian diplomatic effort to deliver aid to Aleppo and wherever needed, and to evacuate the wounded.
Read more
European Commission Humanitarian Aid and Civil Protection – Syrian crisis factsheet  

Photo: European Union

Countries covered:

  • Syria *