Use of chemical weapons in Syria: EU imposes sanctions against 16 additional persons

July 17, 2017
Share on

The Council of the European Union today added 16 persons to the list of those targeted by EU restrictive measures against the Syrian regime. The EU added these16 persons for their role in the development and use of chemical weapons against the civilian population, in line with the EU’s policy to fight the proliferation and use of chemical weapons.

The people targeted include eight high-ranking military officials and eight scientists involved in chemical weapons proliferation and delivery. The EU had already imposed restrictive measures on high-ranking officials, most recently on 4 March, for the use of chemical weapons.

Today’s decision brings to 255 persons the total number of persons targeted by a travel ban and an assets freeze for being responsible for the violent repression against the civilian population in Syria, benefiting from or supporting the regime, and/or being associated with such persons.

In addition, 67 entities are targeted by an assets freeze. More broadly, sanctions currently in place against Syria include an oil embargo, restrictions on certain investments, a freeze of the assets of the Syrian central bank held in the EU, export restrictions on equipment and technology that might be used for internal repression as well as on equipment and technology for the monitoring or interception of internet or telephone communications.


Read more

Press release

Syria: Council response to the crisis (background information)

Fact sheet European Union and Syria



Countries covered:

  • Syria *
Human Rights