MEDREG’s EC Grant Contract II – Association of Mediterranean Energy Regulators

Project Duration
2017 - 2022
€ 1.39 million
Learn more about the project

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Tunisia

Brief Description

MEDREG is the Association of Mediterranean Energy Regulators, born in 2007 under the Italian law.
It currently gathers 27 energy regulators from 23 countries, spanning the European Union, the Balkans and the MENA region. The institution benefits from the financial support of its members and the European Commission.

Countries covered: Albania, Algeria, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Libya, Lebanon, Malta, Mauritania, Montenegro, Morocco, Palestine, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Tunisia and Turkey.


Mediterranean energy regulators work together to:

  • Foster cooperation, information exchange and assistance among members, providing a permanent discussion framework and cooperation network.
  • Provide capacity development activities through study visits, training sessions and workshops.
  • Support initiatives of common interest in key areas such as infrastructure investment and development innovative financing solutions for the Mediterranean and research in the field of energy regulation.
  • Foster sustainable development in the energy sector through greater efficiency and integration of energy markets based on secure, safe, cost-effective and environmentally sustainable energy systems.
  • Promote a greater compatibility of the energy markets and legislation and seek progressive market integration in the Euro-Mediterranean region.

Actions in brief

Technical reports, guidance on good practices, benchmarking reports, market observatories, recommendations, trainings, events, tailored-made workshops, meetings, capacity building, policy and regulatory guidance, assistance, consulting, peer reviews.


Environment & Climate change