Samir Kassir Award for freedom of the press: postponement of the award ceremony

May 27, 2020
Share on

Due to the health situation and to ensure as much as possible the participation of the finalists and the jury members originating from many different countries, the award ceremony of the 15th edition of the Samir Kassir Award for freedom of the press will take place at a later time this year.

The Samir Kassir Award for freedom of the press is a contest open to all journalists working in or for written press or audiovisual. The award is granted and fully funded by the European Union and is open to nationals of the following countries: Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

Since the first award ceremony was held in 2006, the Award was conferred 35 times, recognizing the work of 33 journalists and researchers, comprised of 20 men and 13 women. The winners have included journalists who are living in exile and others who undertake their work at great personal cost, facing risks of persecution and threats to their freedom of expression and their life.

Read more

EU Delegation to Lebanon website and Facebook page

Samir Kassir Award website


Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia