Covenant of Mayors for the Mediterranean, Com Med

Project Duration
Since 2012
Integrated within the Clima-Med budget.
Learn more about the project

Countries covered:

  • Algeria
  • Egypt
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Morocco
  • Palestine *
  • Syria *
  • Tunisia

Project Description

CoM Med, the regional affiliation of the Global Covenant of Mayors (GCoM), is an EU-funded voluntary-based initiative set up and operated by Clima-Med.


It brings together local authorities that are committed to advancing climate solutions to implement National Determined Contributions (NDCs) requirements in 19 countries, including Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia, as well as Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

Clima-Med promotes and supports adhesion to CoM Med and provides Help Desk support to prepare SEACAPs through two CoM Med regional offices: one in Rabat for the Maghreb region and one in Beirut for the Mashreq. The CoM Med website, managed by Clima-Med, gives signatory cities access to the MyCovenant reporting platform.


Since its creation CoM Med has been rapidly growing with a continuous increase in the number of adherents reaching over 140 cities that have committed to join and 100 municipalities that have finalised their SEACAPs, thus ensuring the objective of promoting adhesion and recording growth.

Civil Society Environment & Climate change Gender Sustainable Development Youth